Wyandot County Building Department

Department Overview

The Wyandot County Building Department is responsible for the administration and enforcement of the applicable State of Ohio Building codes for commercial and industrial construction, alteration and additions.

SAFEbuilt provides all services of the Wyandot County Building Department.

Service Area:

**As of 4/11/2023 - The Wyandot County Building Department serves all unincorporated areas of Wyandot County and the Village of Harpster.
- The Villages of Carey and Wharton and the City of Upper Sandusky are serviced by the Richland County Building Department.

NOTE: All Wyandot County Plumbing approvals and inspections are provided by the Richland County Health Department at this time: 
Phone: 419-774-4500


Certified by the State of Ohio, the Wyandot County Building Department is to ensure that the County meets the minimum building code safety standards. Dedicated Building, Electrical, Plumbing and Fire inspectors provide plan reviews, issue plan approvals, and conduct inspection services for building, electrical, HVAC, and mechanical, plumbing, and fire protection systems, code enforcement and information. 

Application Information

Inspections must scheduled in advance with a 24 hour notice. We will provide a 2 hour window for the inspector to arrive on site.

Contractors must obtain a registration before any work is performed. The following contractors must provide proof of licensure by the State of Ohio:

  • Electrical
  • Fire Protection 
  • HVAC
  • Plumbing
  • Hydronics
  • Refrigeration

Community Core Submission Portal

A web-based & mobile-friendly permitting program. Powered by SAFEbuilt.