Regional Planning Commission

Lot Splits

Any division of land less than 20 acres in size will require approval by the Wyandot County Regional Planning Commission (Form #1 below).

Those divisions of land containing a residential dwelling, or any division less than 5 acres in size, will also require a Soils Review by the Wyandot County Health Department (Applicaion below).

Wyandot County Flood Prevention Regulations & Records

The Planning Commission Office also oversees the implementation of the Wyandot County Flood Prevention Regulations and Records.  These regulations are made to promote the public health, safety and general welfare and to minimize public and private losses due to flood conditions in Special Flood Hazard Areas (SFHA) or floodplains.

Regional Planning Commission Duties

The responsibilities of the planning commission are spelled out in the Ohio Revised Code (ORC), and the commission is guided by the Wyandot County Subdivision Regulations.

The purpose of regional planning regulations is to ensure that proposed lots in Wyandot County have access to suitable roads, to sanitary services or are able to support sewage treatment systems, and have adequate access for utilities. A set of regulations governing how land is divided in a county gives the property owner confidence that they have the full intended use of that property.

The Wyandot County Regional Planning Commission is made up of nine at-large representatives from the townships, a representative from the Board of Commissioners, the Public Health Commissioner, Soil and Water Conservation District, the County Engineer's office, and an Extension Educator. In addition, two citizen representatives serve on the commission.