Sex Offenders

Search the Sex Offender Registry


Adam Walsh Act

On January 1, 2008 Ohio's Sex Offender Registration laws changed. Ohio became one of the first states in the nation to adopt the provisions of the Adam Walsh Act. The Adam Walsh Act was passed and signed into federal law in 2006. It required states to implement the provisions and guidelines of the Adam Walsh Act or risk losing federal block grant money. The intent of the Adam Walsh Act is to provide a universal method of determining sex offender classifications and the requirements of those classifications in all states nationwide.

The Adam Walsh Act replaces previous sex offender classification designations such as Sexual Predator or Sexually Oriented Offender, with Tier classification designations. The Tier classification designations for sex offenders are determined by the criminal offense or offenses the offender was convicted of. The Adam Walsh Act was retroactive and included the reclassification of all sex offenders previously convicted as well as determining the classification of all sex offenders convicted in the future.

Registration

The County Sheriff is responsible under Ohio law for the registration of sex offenders. Sex offenders must register with the County Sheriff on scheduled periodic bases, which is determined by their sex offender Tier classification. In addition, sex offenders must register with the County Sheriff any change of residential address, place of employment, or enrollment in a school or institution of higher education.

Tier I

Sex offenders must register with the County Sheriff at least once annually for a period of 15 years. In addition, must register any change of residential address, place of employment, or enrollment in a school or institution of higher education.

Tier II

Sex offenders must register with the County Sheriff every 180 days for a period of 25 years. In addition, must register any change of residential address, place of employment, or enrollment in a school or institute of higher education.

Tier III

Sex offenders must register with the County Sheriff every 90 days for life. In addition, must register any change of residential address, place of employment, or enrollment in a school or institution of higher education. Note: Tier III sex offenders may also be subject to community notification, which means upon a change of residential address, the County Sheriff will provide notice to a neighborhood within 1000 feet of the sex offender's residential address. The County Sheriff will also provide notice to schools, registered day-care providers, and law enforcement agencies within the county.